Bye-bye, Summer 2010!

From my Healthy Living column in Moncton’s Times & Transcript.

It dawned on me recently that summer 2010 is closer to its end than to its beginning. Stores have already moved the tubes of sunblock to the back and put the back-to-school supplies on display in the front. My next columns are likely to be related to resuming school.

This is why my message of the week is to maximize the rest of the summer so that when we return to the books in a few weeks, we can think that it is “the most wonderful time of the year” just like our parents (and Staples, of course) do.

If you wanted to spend time outdoors or you wanted to work on a special project this summer, it’s the time to do it. It’s also the time to start slowly transitioning into the yearly routine. While it may be a bit irritating to, for example, start going to bed earlier again, you’ll appreciate falling asleep immediately this fall instead of tossing and turning all night when you have several classes to attend the next day. Testing the practicality of your autumn schedule in advance will also help you solve potential problems.

To date, my summer has been busy and rewarding yet relaxing. It’s been busy because I’ve been waist-deep in writing projects, volunteer work, and preparation for my first year at university.

It’s been relaxing since I still found the time carry out some of my favorite summer traditions such as berry picking (As of now, I’ve picked plenty of strawberries and raspberries and I have plans to go blueberry picking during the week.) and walking at the beach.

It’s been rewarding since I had my work published in a magazine not only for the first time, but for three consecutive times this summer. Volunteering at the IAAF Championships was a once in a lifetime experience and my volunteer work at other places also provided unique and valuable experiences. As for my preparation for this fall, I already feel that I’ve saved myself a considerable amount of stress by looking into my schedule in advance. Unlike my summers of elementary school, this summer was definitely not tainted by boredom and a strong, unrelenting anticipation for the end of summer.

I’m looking forward to following my own advice and spending the next three weeks of summer putting the finishing touches on my summer goals and gently swinging back into my routine.

 

Originally published in the Times & Transcript on August 21st, 2010.



Leave a comment